Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In this contemporary era, it is a point of discussion that aged individuals should be allowed to work until any age they prefer. In my opinion, this will certainly have more advantages than disadvantages as discussed below in the essay.

To commence with, there are a myriad of reasons for permitting the aged section of society to work without any limitation of the age factor since it helps them continue being self-dependent on their financial decisions, instead of depending on their children and contributing towards society. Besides this, it keeps them occupied instead of feeling left alone in this fast-paced environment, which is one of the worst feelings that usually engulfs the older community at this age. For instance, the elderly public who earns and stays socially active encounter fewer mental problems and enjoy a better life. Thus, permitting senior residents to work irrespective of the age limit is beneficial for themselves and for society as a whole.

In spite of the various merits of allowing the older community to work without any age restrictions, there are also a few demerits of it. Firstly, it is believed that after a certain age an individual loses efficiency, enthusiasm and ability to think innovatively and maintain pace with evolving technological environment, which affects their work performance. Additionally, they tend to refuse to adapt to new technology and the changes necessitated in the dynamic world and therefore, hinder individual and the company’s growth. For example, about ten years ago, the adoption of computers and learning new technology was highly retaliated by older banking sector employees ,unlike youngsters.

To conclude, despite there being some negative sides to consenting the elderly population to work, it brings many benefits such as being self-reliant and contributing towards the nation. In my opinion, the advantages of letting the senior section of society far outweigh the disadvantages.