 Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In response to the aging population comes the opinion that senior citizens should be empowered by the authorities to work regardless of their age. Although this practice offers a gateway to improve elderly physical and mental well-being, it cannot justify the imbalance workforce and the likelihood of workplace accidents. Accordingly, I lean toward the idea that the disadvantages eclipsed the advantages.

Rationally, the absence of retirement age ensues elderly mental wellness improvement. In simple words, being employed averts the deterioration of self-esteem in older adults by allowing them to further contribute to the accumulation of social wealth. For instance, many workers in Japan are willing to engage in the labor force beyond their retirement age, which sustains their contribution to society and eases the financial burden on pension schemes. It implies that registering in the workforce enriches their mental health by keeping them busy and reducing the social burden stigma.

Meanwhile, imbalance in the labor market may arise when the elderly targets same positions as younger generation. Since the aged often lack stamina and physical fitness for jobs that require physical demanding, they will search for a favorable work environment such as office worker or manager in a business setting. While other fields witness a potential shortage of workers, some jobs can be unreasonably appealing and competitive to approach due to competence between two labor forces, youths and the elderly, In addition, there are more substantial risks to both older people and society when working at the limit of their age. A prime example is teaching or coaching, where the degradation of memories associated with slower somatic reflexes resulted in frequent mistakes in older people compared to the young generation. That is why working at the edge of retirement generated detrimental repercussions for the elderly and society.

In recapitulation, although it is tempting to permit old labor to work regardless of their age, governments ought to set limits and be careful with the probability of labor accidents. If authorities fail to impose a sufficient solution, stiff competition will result in unnecessary redundancy and shortage in other disciplines.