Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s developing world, the retirement age has always been a protracted debate. When it comes to the age at which the elderly should quit their jobs, some people advocate that they should remain in employment whenever they want. From my point of view, although it is justifiable to some extent, I am convinced that there are more problems with this policy.

On the one hand, the benefits of letting old people work to any age they desire are somehow undeniable. It is obvious that it can ensure their financial ability. When they continue to be a part of the labor force, they can earn their own salary. In other words, they can be self-reliant in terms of finances without having to depend on their children. In the long run, it can bring a sense of freedom and accomplishment to the elderly, fostering self-worth and more open relationships with their offspring.

On the other hand, although the merits of abolishing the mandatory retirement age are inevitable, I believe that its demerits are more worth noticing. It cannot be denied that having workers at an older age may not ensure the productivity of the company. In terms of health, the elderly may suffer from a lack of physical stamina and some ailments including arthritis, diabetes, and etc. Moreover, they may not be able to catch up with the state-of-the-art technology as well as their younger counterparts due to old age. As a result, these concerns can potentially take their toll on the work output and the overall efficiency of the company.

In conclusion, despite some advantages brought to the elderly when they can work longer, I advocate that the disadvantages are more serious including the deterioration of work productivity.