In some countries around the world men and women are having children late in life.

What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

Traditionally, people raise children in the age of twenties. However, people in today’s modern society are having children increasingly late. It is necessary to explore the reasons behind this trend and analyze the problems caused by this change.

High living cost is the root cause to late childbirth, making married people be busy with working. Living cost including high food prices and unaffordable houses, if soaring rapidly, focuses people to keep working continuously. Only in this way can they maintain their own basic life needs, not to mention that they have extra money and time to raise children. Therefor, living in this stressful social situation, it s widely believed that having children is not a good idea for people when they can only afford their own living.

Having children late may cause the falling of population of children, which can have a negative effect on the social development. The phenomenon of childlessness cause by the problem of late childbirth means that there will not be enough young people who can take over the jobs that today’s the young are doing when they retire. As a result, the whole society cannot be maintained as usual when no young people to finish some certain works.

Moreover, having children late can have negative impact on the growth of children, thus making parents spend more time and effort to take care of them. If women give birth to their children late, their children may not develop as strongly and healthily as their children who are born early when their mothers are much younger. Therefore, their parents have to spare more effort and time to look after them in order to ensure children’s healthy growth.

To sum up, living under the situation of high living stress is responsible for the late childbirth and this changes not only bring negative to the whole society but also to people’s family life.