In some countries around the world men and women are having babies late in life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is a growing proportion of the world’s population tends to give birth to a child at a later age. This phenomenon is mainly contributed by the thinking of having adequate career achievements before marrying. In my opinion, I believe that the cons would eclipse the pros, and in this essay, I will present two points of view.

There are several cogent reasons that lead to the inclination of delaying childbirth. Firstly, due to the significance of the labour market, many people are more likely to have the propensity for prioritizing their careers over taking parental roles. Many teenagers tend to lay a sound foundation for their later careers at an early age rather than giving birth. As a consequence, they would have more opportunity to move up the career ladder, achieve a prosperous life. Secondly, the more mature they are, the better education they give to their children. Admittedly, having passed through a massive number of obstacles, teenagers would have a deeper understanding of life, such as how to deal with temptations or manage their money effectively. This experience may play a prerequisite in rearing children in the right way.

Besides the advantageous influences mentioned before, the paradigm shifts of having pregnancy in later life may bring some adverse repercussions. It is undeniable that giving birth later may result in higher health risks for their child, or even in the worst-case scenario, miscarriage may occur. For example, Down Syndrome is one of the most notorious effect of having delayed children’s birth, making their child’s cognitive development unstable. Furthermore, postponing their children’s birth can result in a clash of personality. Due to the significant gap, people cannot understand their children’s thinking and may find hinder to communicate with them.

To conclude, occupational prioritization is the apparent reason why many people tend to delay their childbirth. Although this phenomenon can help them to organize their children in the right way, we cannot overlook some detrimental problems with the health risks, such as the possibility of infertility.