In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels health and fitness is decreasing.What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

The rising levels of Obesity and metabolic diseases is a grave concern for some countries. The major contributing factors behind this trend are change in lifestyle and consumption of imbalanced diet.

Evidence suggests physical activity levels and eating patterns have changed in many countries. With increased development, majority of the population are now living a sedentary lifestyle. Many people are now engaged in jobs that require minimal movement. In addition, long working hours are leaving very little time for them to engage in any fitness or exercise programs. Further, this lack of time is also pushing them to adopt unhealthy eating practices. This scenario is further exacerbated by easy availability of packaged, ready-to-cook and fast foods. As a result, majority of people have now given up cooking meals at home and prefer eating at restaurants, office cafeterias or fast food stalls. Thus, increasing number of people are now at risk of developing diseases such as Obesity, Hypertension and Diabetes.

However, the good news is that this trend can be attenuated by adopting certain measures. Firstly, governments and public health regulatory bodies should organize awareness and education programs in local communities. These should aim to provide people with information about the health implications of increasing weight and absence of exercise. Secondly, local councils of countries should ensure that they allocate sufficient funds to develop suitable infrastructures such as parks, cycling tracks etc., so that more people are encouraged to be physically active. Lastly, strict regulations should be imposed on food manufactures to provide detailed information about nutrition on food labels. This will help people to make healthy food choices.

In conclusion, while inactivity and imbalanced dietary habits have resulted in increasing risk of overweight and related diseases, appropriate measures such as education and development of suitable infrastructure can be taken to ensure better health and well-being of population of vulnerable countries.