Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Few people believe that a foreign language has to be learned only if a person has to travel or work abroad. While others think that learning a foreign language has more benefits and should not be dependent on these factors. I think that, education of a foreign language can help us understand culture of different countries as well as stimulate our mental abilities.

Those who claim, that foreign language s of no use without visiting a country or working there, believe that is waste of time learning a skill that is not going to be utilized anytime. For example, an individual who works in a particular country does not need to know any other language other than his native language as that is what is going to be used primarily for communication. Instead, the same tome can be devoted to acquiring some other skills which may prove to be more beneficial in individual's professional area.

On the other hand, it cannot be denied that language serves many other purpose other than communication. each language is a reflection of its country's cultural and historical background. Therefore, learning a foreign language can help an individual to understand the culture, habits and practices of foreign country without visiting it. The ability to read and understand a foreign literature from different areas such as arts, history or science can help get an in-depth knowledge about country. Apart from this cultural aspects research has also shown that learning a foreign language provides a challenge and this helps in improving cognitive and reasoning abilities.

To conclude, in my view, there are many advantages in learning a foreign language such as increasing cultural knowledge and cognitive benefits. While it may be essential to do so in case of a foreign visit, but its benefits supersedes the necessity of such a scenario.