In some countries boarding schools are getting more popular. Is it a positive or negative development? What are the reasons behind it?

Boarding schools are becoming more popular in several nations because many parents are overworked. On the other hand, it has a beneficial influence on producing graduates who have strong self-discipline.

If students attend boarding schools, they tend to be highly self-disciplined because there are some regulations of stringent rule, and there is close monitoring from teachers. Students should to finish their schoolwork on time, and they are restrained themselves from drinking and smoking. Such capacity of self-control they form in boarding school tremendously benefits their personal success all the way through their academic study and professional career. Students at Ananda boarding school are required to enter the class at 6 A.M and finish at 4 P.M, after the Class they should do task assessment. Seldom do graduates of these schools become unsuccessful at their jobs and life.

The main reason why boarding schools are getting more popular is that parents are busier. Behind the price of consumer goods and housing soaring are parent now have to work 3 times harder to support their families, so they leave almost no time to accompany their children. Parents do not have a choice, but one thing they can do is send their children to boarding school. As many as 70% of young parents in Indonesia who work 8 hours a day, even at home, or travel frequently send their children to boarding schools because they know how inconsistent they will be in parenting or providing for the needs of their kids.

In conclusion, the major reason that boarding schools are becoming more popular is that parents' schedules are becoming more hectic. However, this benefits for their children since they will have a highly disciplined disposition. If possible, parents In conjunction with school stakeholders should continue to provide supervision to children.