In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food.It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

People have different views about whether the government should raise the tax for fast food or not. I believe that resisting eating fast food by providing a higher tax works.

On the one hand, people need some outside force to dent their appetite for keeping an unhealthy diet. For starters, they would have little self-control when exposing to temptations. With fast food increasingly involving in our daily life, it goes without saying that almost every citizen has tried them despite being aware of the harms. Furthermore, today citizens are more likely to work overtime to earn more money, resulting in less time for them cooking by themselves. More and more people resort to convenience food. So some outside force to help them cut down reliance on this tasty but harmful food, like raising the levy, may make a difference.

On the other hand, it should be the government’s responsibility to resist the excessive eating of junk food. This is because if a growing number of citizens have medical conditions, the burdens of the healthcare services system will soar. Thus the government would have no choice but to budget a multitude of funds towards healthcare. Compounding this is that other fields, such as education and infrastructure construction also need huge investments. In this way, raising the tax would be the most efficient and cost-effective way to reduce the potential cost of eating fast food.

To summarize, I believe that it would be a practical and efficient way to offer a higher tax for fast food to the public. This measure could enormously reduce people’s dependence on fast food.