In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In contemporary life, in order to prevent the fact that there has been an increasing number of people suffering health issues due to consuming too much fast food, the government need to impose a higher tax on this food. In my opinion, i partly agree with this statement because of some below reasons.

To begin with, there are grounds that imposing the higher tax on unhealthy food is essential in order to reduce the risk of heart diseases and obesity and save more money. Because fast food is fried into deep fat , it could lead to the overweight situation for eaters. According to the WHO( world health organization) , they refer that 60% of children in Asia is obese owing to fast food. Regarding saving money, although the price for a fast food meal is not exorbitant, consuming it for thousands of times is a huge amount of money .fast food consumers are able to save money from halting using unhealthy processed food, spending it either to take care of their children such as taking children to good schools or to travel after nerve-racking working time.

However, i have to admit that the higher tax on fast food would induce many dire consequences to job opportunities in food industries and temper the growth of transportation. Naturally, if fast food industry does have a capacity of achieving more revenue no longer because of the decrease in purchasing for this type of food, the salary for employees will be reduced, worse, the workers probably are put at a great risk of unemployment. Moreover, it is able to have a negative impact on delivery particularly home delivery as people may are not willing to purchase food with higher prices

In my conclusion, although the government enacts a law related in the higher tax on fast food, which brings undeniable benefits for the local’s health, its disadvantages for economic and job prospects could be deliberated. i suppose that the government and other social organizations need to seek more useful approaches to balance the economically sustainable development and people’s health.