In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result o eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option?

In recent years, health problems caused by the excessive consumption of fast foods have assumed epidemic proportions all over the world. Therefore, there are some people who think that imposing a higher tax on junk food to discourage people from eating such foods. Although this suggestion appears attractive, it may not be a powerful and effective solution for the following reasons.

On the one hand, a heightened tax on fast food may hurt the economy. First, since governments raise taxes on fast food, people have to spend more time to prepare healthy food at home, which makes productivity slow down. In fact, people who spend more time on cooking at home, they will not have much time for their work, making work efficiency decrease. Second, if taxes on fast food are increased, they will negatively impact on fast food companies. For example, junk food companies cut down products and do not need more employees to work, which makes more workers be laid off.

On the other hand, that solution would not be effective because of some reasons. First, despite having to pay more for the duty, consumers may still favor this kind of food. In fact, most people who consume fast foods are actually aware of its health consequences, however, they are still compelled to buy fast foods because of their busy schedule. Second, making healthy food more affordable and accessible could be a better solution. For instance, if healthy food can cook at home in 15 minutes, or it easy to buy in supermarkets to save time, people would be willing to give up eating fast food.

In conclusion, a heightened tax on junk food is not the best way to encourage people not to eat that kind of food anymore. The government should find another solution such as making healthy food has a reasonable and accessible price.