In today’s world, private companies rather than the government pay for and conduct most scientific research.

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, scientific studies have got financial grants or conducted by private companies instead of governing bodies. Personally, I believe that this trend brings more drawbacks than benefits.

On the one hand, since scientific researches have been paid for and conducted by private enterprises, this could bring some benefits to both society and individuals. In fact, unlike governmental organizations, most companies' main purpose is profits/benefits/revenue, so they tend to prevent their workers from wasting money and resource as well as provide products more quickly and more efficiently. Thanks to this quickly produce, people have modern products in a short time. For example, in only 3 years, Tesla company has studied and produced its 1 million electric cars for people all over the world, this helps saving energy and protect the environment. In addition, when governments leave scientific research for business, the financial pressure on the national budget could be partly relaxed/relieved. Instead, governments can use their budget on other important sectors such as education or transportation.

On the other hand, I believe that letting private businesses sponsor or undertake scientific studies would bring more significant disadvantages. Firstly, there would be very few companies that are willing to do unpaid work while they have to shoulder a huge financial burden at the same time. Therefore, they may require the public to pay money to access or share your result, even sell unfinished results, so that they can afford to cover their expenses as well as to ensure their personal incomes. Secondly, if governments allow private companies to carry out scientific researches, it would be difficult for governing bodies to closely monitor the entire research process. It is possible that private businesses may sell their studies to other organizations, such as terrorists or criminals, who take advantage of such researches to harm society.

In conclusion, I believe that private companies conducted or finance for scientific studies would bring more harm than benefits.