In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that governments should impose higher taxes on fast foods, as in some countries an increasing number of health problems are appearing as a result of eating too much of this kind of food. This essay will discuss the reasons behind my strong agreement with this statement.

As a matter of fact, fast food is highly processed, very low in micronutrients and very high in bad macronutrients such as fats and sugars. This, and all the other chemicals that it contains makes it appealing and tasty, and as a result, people are becoming more abusive. Fast food chains such as Mc Donald's and Burger King sell all kinds of bad food for a very low price, making it easy for families with children to afford a meal for everybody. But kids should not grow up thinking that inexpensive means good food.

In fact, if a higher tax was imposed on junk food, this will make it less cheap, leaving people with a wider choice in regard to nutriment. For example, today a nourishing salad costs up to 10 dollars, while a fries and burger menu is less than 5. So why would anybody choose between something that is less tasteful and less cheap and something that is inexpensive and succulent? One choice is left to prevent the spread of dangerous health diseases caused by improper nutrition, and it is to tax more fast foods to push people to make better choices for their health.

In conclusion, I totally agree with the choice of governments to step in and take action by making this kind of junk food more expensive. People need their administrators to help them be safe and healthy when they can't do it on their own.