In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent century there are an increasing number of people who are experiencing severe health related illness from excessive junk food consumption. To forbid these horrifying conditions, the government is approaching some essential steps and one of those is enforcing of taxes on fast foods. While I understand the effect of taxes can reduce the junk food consumptions in some extent, I believe that this will not be effective in a long run because the nation cannot fully control people’s preferences.

Enhancement of taxation on convenient foods can reduce some of consumption rates. The higher price can be burden for people and that leads to reconsidering of their unhealthy eating habits. People are generally craving for stimulus tastes which can be satisfied by eating unhealthy foods such as fast foods or junk foods, and this had been influenced by several ways. For example, TV commercials or peer groups’ influences can affect people’s eating habits regardless health effects on fast food taking.

The effectiveness of taxation is a questionable issue. If people are addicted to stimulus tastes and influenced by various forms of external factors, the price of foods may not be the biggest obstacles. In a short run, people will stop eating unhealthy foods because of the sudden price shock but eventually their eating habit will back to normal. The main reason for this is people have difficulties in changing their habits especially their habitual cycles. Therefore, imposing higher tax on convenient foods is not effective.

In conclusion, in some part of globe, people are becoming more habituated with convenience food despite realizing of fatal health consequences, obesity and other unhealthy related diseases. Taxation on junk food can have some effects but it is only for a short term and thus, this will only increase the corporation’s profits.