In some countries, it is illegal for companies to reject job applicants for their age. Is this a positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Being employed is an ultimate goal for most of us who aspire to make an abundant living in life. In some parts of the world, industries accept applicants regardless of their age range and it is certainly true that this contributes to a successful development in a country.

To begin with, most of the business firm institutes the policy of hiring employees regarding screening of applicants which involves accepting different age range to a particular position as it gives a wider opportunity to the people. In addition, it promotes equality for all potential individuals especially between new graduates and senior professionals who are seeking for the same job. To cite an example, some of the Asian countries including Singapore and Hongkong, where old and young workers can be visibly observed in many parts of their country regardless of the work that suits them.

However, there are downside factors to be considered as the competition in the employment field is high. Fresh graduates competing for their way to acquire a high-rank position may not be that well equipped to handle the challenges compared to the senior staffs who are being more experienced in certain areas of expertise. Furthermore, it could also be argued that there is a possibility that older individuals may lose a considerable number of job placement if younger applicants are considered as they are more eager and active in venturing a new journey.

In conclusion, it is certainly a substantial progress for the economy of the society to implement balance and equality in choosing career oriented people regardless of the age status. Opening more opportunity to the public would mean bigger chances and selection to each individual.