Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree?

Commodities are one of the basic needs of every one of us. In some areas of the world, supermarkets are growing and more competitive which overshadows the mini-stores in some districts. Some people agree that declining these stop-shops stores may cause problems to local people in the community. It is certainly true that it can damage the livelihood of local individuals as they are apparently more reliance on small businesses.

Most of the locals preferred to choose small stores to purchase quick items such as instant goodies and products as it saves time and more convenient to access rather than the bigger stores like Carrefour located inside the Malls. In addition, as well as the customers, owners of these minimarts rely greatly on small business for their daily income survival. For instance, The group of Al Maya stop-shops where located in different areas in Dubai, are heavily packed with customers during specific rush-hour of the day. They offer inexpensive yet limited choices to buyers as it has small spaces to accommodate a variety of products.

Admittedly, some shoppers opted to go to huge and popular stores which can provide standard products and a wider selection of choices for much more satisfying shopping as it gives the people more chances to select and opportunity to enjoy a variety of items.

Moreover, the supermarkets such as Carrefour are widely known and it is readily available any time of the day as some of the branches operate 24/7. It can also cover all the insufficiency that local small stores has.

In conclusion, small local business has no chance of winning over the well-known supermarkets that has outrageous service of commodities for the public but it has its disadvantages that mini-markets are capable of which should not be taken for granted and neglect its purpose.