In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent days, more and more people tend to live by their selves compared with before that everyone used to spend their free time together. This trend seems to be popular in some developed countries. However, I believe that this direction has both positive and negative sides.

On the one hand, there are a number of benefits of living residing. Firstly, it is a good chance for the young to become more independent, because they have to learn how to take care of themselves. For example, students who study away from home need to cook meals, clean their homes and pay all bills by themselves. It makes them more self-reliant and decisive. Secondly, when living alone people will have their own space. They are no longer confined to a bedroom for privacy and storage. Besides, they can do whatever they want such as making their own house rules or decorating the space to their exact specification.

On the other hand, although this direction gives many advantages for people, individuals may face to several troubles because of it. the first and for most thing is living alone may lead to some negative emotions such bored and lonely. For instance, after a hard-working day, you come back home, you want to share your stress and you realize that you are the only person in your house, you may feel lonely from time to time. Because there is no one hear you confide your stress at work or your problems in relationships. Furthermore, they have to pay all bills by themselves such as housing rent, living expense and the like. Although they may be conscious about using resources to save money, they are still under the pressure.

In conclusion, although choosing to live alone have advantages like independence and self-reliant, it may be negative development because of feeling lonely and the cost of living.