In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is a fact that the number of individuals deciding to settle on their own today is greater than that in the past in some areas. This essay will analyse why I believe that the merits outweigh the inconveniences of this trend.

On the one hand, living alone has its benefits. First and foremost, choosing to separate from parents and family indicates a step towards growth and adulthood, along with self-preparedness for obstacles in life. To illustrate, teenagers who reach the age of 18 in many countries usually have to move out and live on their own as they have to be responsible for themselves from that moment. Another compelling reason is that there is more privacy when having a house of your own. Hence, a constellation of adults prefer living alone to staying with others as they can proceed with their own lives and personal activities without being questioned or interrupted.

On the other hand, in spite of the aforementioned advantages, I believe living alone brings a host of drawbacks. The primary reason is that one is required to have a stable financial background in order to live by themselves. Hence, it can become a burden to make enough money to pay for living expenses alone. Moreover, the demand for houses is likely to increase. Hence, land and natural resources might be used up and affect the wellbeing of the environment.

To sum up, I believe that the downsides associated with people living alone in countries are eclipsed by various conveniences.