in some countries, many people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development.

In recent years, there has been an increasing number of people who live alone in some developed countries, especially, some big cities and towns. The rise in the number of one – person households may have both positive and negative consequences equally.

On the one hand, one – person households can be seen as positive for both personal and broader economic reasons. On individual level, those who choose to live alone may become more independent and self – reliant. For instance, young adults who live alone can learn to cook, clean, and pay their bills or even manage their own budget. These are valuable life skills which a person who live with their parents may not have. Therefore, an increase in such individuals can be a negative development. Form the economic perspective, if the number of people living alone increases, there will be a greater demand for housing. This will benefit the construction industry, estate agents and a whole host of companies that rely on homeowners to buy their products and services.

However, the personal and economic arguments given above can be considered from the opposite angle. Firstly, rather than the feelings of independence, people may experience feelings of loneliness, isolation and worry because they miss out emotional supports from daily conversation with their family or flatmates, they hear the weight of all bills and responsibilities. In this case, the trend towards living alone seems negative. Secondly, from financial point of view, a rise in the demand for housing will push up property prices and rents. While this benefits some businesses, people who choose to live alone will be faced with rising living costs.

In conclusion, I believe that living alone have both beneficial and detrimental effects on both individual and economy.