In some countries, the number of people choosing to live by themselves is increasing

rapidly in recent years. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development for

society?

Living alone has been an increasing trend in the last few decades. This has happened as people cannot afford the cost of a marriage life. This essay will look at both pros and cons of this tendency.

It is clear that majority of people today decide not to marry because they find living with spouse and having children very costly. For instance, the expenses of having a wedding party, booking honey moon or buying a new house to name as a few will apparently go over their budget. If they don't have a decent job that can cover all the spending, their life will be in misery. By analyzing this example, it is more understandable why people choose to live on their own.

Living by oneself will obviously bring about some benefits. Firstly, it seems to me that people will have more privacy thanks to living alone. There are a lot of things that’s not very convenient to do when they share a room with someone such as playing their favorite kind of music loudly or having their pet sleeping on the couch. Secondly, the quality of life will be increased since they are not under financial pressure. The income that make every year will be devoted for merely for their own expenditure. If they live with a wife or husband with children, the cost may be doubled compared to a single life. By looking at the two example of the advantages, it is rather persuadable that people will benefit a great deal from no-marriage life.

On the other hand, it is argued that this trend may cause some negative effects on some people. Physically, people may have some unhealthy life style when they live alone as most human-being scientifically were born a couch potato. By this I mean people will not actively get involved into a physical job unless they are asked to do, and this passive lifestyle may lead to some common health problems especially obesity. The drawback in terms of mentality is that people are less likely to overcome their pressure without the support from someone who really understand them. For example, when breaking up with someone, they may fall into crises and talking to someone can be better remedy for them compared to handling the problem by them self. Finally, for effects given, it is undoubtably that there are some disadvantages of this trend that exist.

In conclusion, the cost of having a marriage life will be the mail the reason behind the idea of living by oneself. As a result, this tendency has created both pros and cons in terms of physical and mental health. although choosing to live a single life is more and more popular, it is argues that the gains may not overweight the losses