In some countries, the number of people choosing to live by themselves is increasing rapidly in recent years. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Recent years have witnessed the rise in the number of single-person accommodations in some nations. The trend toward living alone is attributable to several reasons, and from my opinion, this has a detrimental effect on individuals.

One the one hand, there are some justifications why people are increasingly living in solitary life, chief of which is they do not want to interrupt others’ daily routine. In fact, each person has a differing lifestyle, which is maintained for some years. When sharing their home with others, they may have to change their long-lasting habits. In other words, cohabiting with other members in the house can cause inconvenience and even discomfort. To exemplify, a large proportion of the young have a routine of staying up late at night and having a lie-in in the morning, while parents usually sleep much earlier. Therefore, is a couple of old and young people try to live together, conflicts centering on sleeping hours has a high possibility to happen. For this reason, more and more individuals tend not to share their place of resident with others.

On the other hand, despite some plausible arguments about this single way of living, I firmly hold the view that this trend has a deleterious influence on individuals. One of the most convincing rationales is that they have to cope with health problems by themselves. That is because no matter how healthy and strong people are, they still suffer from health deterioration in their life. By way of illustration, when people who live alone have flu-like symptoms, they must go to the pharmacy for the medical support by their own. If the symptoms become more serious without care from family or roommates, their life might be put at risk. In this way, the decision of living in solitary leads people to life-threatening situations. This reinforces the view that single lifestyle might be disadvantageous to one’s health.

In conclusion, the choice of living on their own stems from a wide range of reasons, the major of these is related to conflicts in lifestyle, and I believe that this trend does more harm than good.