In some countries, owing a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Some people argue that living in their own homes is more vital than renting houses. There are several reasons why this is the case and I personally believe that owning a home has more drawbacks than benefits.

In some countries, people believe that living in a home is very important for several reasons. Firstly, they want to have a house with design and functions according to theirs desires. For example, homeowners can give their suggests, requirements to every single room in their houses, and other things like design, interior, exterior will be made according to their own needs to create the most comfortable spaces for family members. Secondly, when someone owns a house, they may spend money on more important things rather than renting costs. Finally, a house can also bring opportunities to invest, because its value will increase in the future.

In my opinion, I believe that it would be a negative situation when people want to own their homes. The construction industry is one of the sectors that create carbon footprint and this is harmful for the environment. The more homes were built, the more carbon emission. Furthermore, if everyone buids their own houses, the spaces for other things like wildlife and biodiversity will be less. Another drawback is that people will have to bear a financial burden because it is very expensive to own a house compare to rent an apartment.

In conclusion, I believe that people want to own their homes rather than rent one due to various reasons, but it seems to me that this also has negative impacts on the environment and homeowners itself.