In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

For some nations owning a home counts more than renting and there could be many reasons for their preference towards having their own home. I believe the primary reason for people to take this way is that becoming a homeowner changes how a person’s financial status is evaluated by others and gives the person a sense of settled and satisfying life. However, this should be viewed as a negative situation for homeowners since they may become less happy as a result of the financial pressure that comes along with building their own homes. Besides, it may lead to unorganized settlement and environmental degradation in the society if everyone thinks to have their own home.

To commence with, people often have the habit of comparing their status with others and have a desire to rise above them. With this, they think that having their own home might upgrade their status and get more respect than before. For instance, in Nepal, most people are now investing their earned money in constructing their own homes. Research has shown that more than 30% of the money that comes from remittance is invested in the construction of homes and construction businesses have shown a rapid rise in the past few years too. Also, for many parents, it is not desirable to get their daughter married to a boy who does not possess his own home. Besides, rent is expensive and people find it relevant to save money and build their own home. So, in many ways, people find it relevant in having their own home rather than staying in rent.

However, the situation of having own home may bear many negative consequences outweighing a few positive benefits it may have to people's life. The fear of being left out by society a person feel pressure to have his own home despite the financial problem he has. He is ought to construct or buy a home either using his lifetime saving or taking loans from the bank. This creates a burden to him and his family which in no sense gives any happiness to him or to his family. It might be possible that they may not be able to pay the loan on time and eventually lose the property they have. Similarly, if everyone opts for having their own home then it may lead to unplanned urbanization, destruction of more agricultural lands, and degradation of the environment. Likewise, the country cannot advance towards in its economy if the money is invested in such sector rather in some other important business areas. As mentioned earlier, more investment in construction homes is considered one of the reasons for the trivial economic growth of Nepal.

In short, the desire of having high status and settled life are the reasons for people having their own home. Nevertheless, if owns financial considerations are not taken into consideration then this might result in an unsatisfied and unhappy life for them.