In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation

According to the prompt, in few countries it is very important to have your own house, rather than renting one. In my opinion, this is mostly a negative situation for mainly two reasons. However it can also be viewed as a positive situation due to one reason which is discussed below.

Firstly, it is a negative situation as buying a new home costs an fortune in such countries, where importance is given to owning a home instead of renting. For example, lets consider a person whose salary is below average. He thinks of buying his own house, as it is considered "important", he would take some loan which may have heavy interest. By the help of the loan, he will definitely be able to buy his own house, but he might spend his most the of adult life in repaying the loan due to the heavy inetrest. Also, he might not be able to enjoy his life or fulfill his any dreams due to the debts. According to research and survery, 40% of suicides in my country are due to the tension taken to repay the home loan. It might not be possible for everyone to buy their own house. One can enjoy, be happy and fulfill their dream even by staying in an rented house, without worrying about any loan.

Secondly, in such nations where house ownership is considered important, the prices of house rise exponentially due to heavy investors and bank policies. It then becomes impossible for middle class and lower class citizen to buy their own house. For example, many people visit new countries for their job or education. Lets say, a person is been transfered to some new country for his job. Finding and buying a new apartment in countries where prices are inflated just by some investors and real estate agent. It will be very difficult for him to buy his own house. Thus, pumping the demand and prices of house just for profits to some investors and banks can be really difficult situation for people who are actually in need. In most countries, this is the situation, where the prices are just pumped without any actual reason, and the consequences are faced by other middle class and needy people.

However, it is a dream for many people to have their own home. Also, in some countries it is considered as good investment to buy a new home, to earn good returns in future. So it can be considered as a positive situation for people having ambition and dreams of buying their own apartment and also for them who have enough funds and looking for some investment with good returns.

In conclusion, buying your own home, rather than renting one is a negative situation mainly due to two reasons, outlined above. Nevertheless, it can also be considered a positive situation for few citizen, who are dreaming of having their own house since childhood, and for some people who has ample of funds to invest and can get good returns in few years.