In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Some people believe that it is vital to have a house instead of renting one. There are several reasons why people can argue that and I personally believe that it would have both drawbacks and benefits.

There are several reasons why people argue that owning a house is very important in some countries. Firstly, buying a house is a way to show the maturity of a person in some nations. For example, in Vietnam, if an individual can afford a house, it means that they have enough ability to raise a family, and this is crucial for men. Secondly, homeownership is very important because owners have the right to decide on their property while renting does not. In other words, ownership is vital, so owning a home is always a priority. Finally, relationships between family members are prefered in some places in the world. For example, a house is not just for a family to live, it can be a home for next generations, so it helps to maintain traditional cultures.

In my opinion, there are both positive and negative impacts of this situation. On the environmental perspective, the more house people build, the more carbon footprint is created. The construction industry is one of the most distributed sectors to carbon emission, and this means that people own more homes leading to negative consequences. Furthermore, if people build more their homes, the estate sector will develop, and partly distribute to economic growth. Besides, the historical and cultural values of personal houses are another benefits.

In conclusion, I believe that people want to own their houses for various reasons and this situation can have both beneficial and detrimental impacts on the environment and society.