In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

These days, many people attach great importance to having their own houses rather than renting accommodation. In my opinion, there are some reasons for it and the trend is a positive development.

One of the main reasons for owning a home is because some people want to improve their self-images. One is able to buy his or her house with the money they earn means that they can take care well for themselves or even their families, which may improve their standing in a society where people usually think houses are one of the necessities for an individual to have a comfortable life. For example, a boy can impress a girl and her family with the house he buys using his own salaries as this can claim that he may meet the basic needs of the girl. In other words, houses seem to be a standard to judge a human's well-being in society and as a result, they put effort to pursue them.

Personally, I strongly believe that the tendency is beneficial for both individuals and society as a whole. First, owning a house may reduce renting costs for a long time, which can minimize the financial pressure upon people. Therefore, they can have more money for fulfilling their basic necessities such as education, entertainment, or services. This means that the living standard of citizens is likely to become better and the communities may appear prosperous with satisfied people. Second, having a house means citizens do not need to mobilize as renting one. When living a rented accommodation, people often have to face the risk of continuous relocation as their life depends on landowners. Therefore, owning a home can help their life more stable and they can devote more to their work or study.

In conclusion, one of the many reasons why people prefer living in their own home rather than becoming tenants can be because of self-image improvement, and I think this is an advantageous development.