In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? and it is positive or negative development?

In some coutries nowadays, more and more people spend longer time at work. There are some reasons for this change and I think that is a positive development.

To begin with, many people nowdays, especially young people tend to work harder and longer for higher salary and more working experience. The more time people spend at their work place, the more job they can fisish leading to higher salary to meet the demand in their life. Futhermore, many young people choose a hard working life to improve their knowledge and working experience so that they can work more professional and improve their productivity. Young people also want to show to their employer that they have passion and responsibility for the job and company so that they should be given some promotion prospects. Lastly, many famous businessmen spend long time at work because simply like it.

Due to those reasons above, I think that people spending more time at work is a positive development. It is true that, countries with long average working time are more economically successful than those coutries not having a long working time because there is a direct limk between hours and the outcome. For example, the magic development of Japan in 20th century and now is the result of a hardworking society where working time can be up to 20 hours a day. On the other hand, many people love working because a hardworking life give them sense of fullfilment or feeling that they are important.

All in all, the biggest reason why people choose to spend long hours at work just the improvement of their own life and the society. Due to that, I believe this is a positive development in this modern world.