In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

For several countries, people use great amount of time on doing their job because of the individual problems or their career. In my opinion, it is a negative trend that would lead to detrimental effects in the future.

To begin with, working with the utmost is the key for financial issues. This means if they spend more requiring hours at work instead of having a nine to five job, they may boost their income and no longer should worry about money. For example, in my country, the employees who already have a child need to get higher salary than others. In other words, in terms of the breadwinner, they must provide an adequate living standard for the whole family. On the other hand, the desire of hard work also comes from promotion. In order to avoid stuck in a rut, over-time job is the only way to demonstrate with the manager that they have passionate and distinct abilities to be accepted for new positions.

However, working a lot can lead to some significantly dangerous issues relating to mental health and physical as well. Obviously, working frequently can be stressful as it is scientifically proven. Take a recent report conducted in Japan, the possibility of adult suicide has been rising over years, following by an increase of anxiety in young people who still drive themselves to working habitant. In addition, serious health risks such as heartbreak, hernia and obesity may be found in over-time workers. Therefore, the longer they work per day, the higher possibility of suffering from negative implications.

In conclusion, I am convinced that extra time working promotes career aspiration and professional productivity, but this also causes unwanted problems for human being.