Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think that it is essential to learn. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

There is a debate about history whether it is vital to learn or not. In my opinion, while this subject is losing our pleasure time, it helps us to respect what we are having nowadays.

History is not really beneficial for several reasons. First of all, in order to know it comprehensively, we need to memorize historical events with its specific periods. This means we may find ourselves difficult to get essential information into the brain. For example, in my country, we have to remember many battles in the past with these content during the high school-time. As a result, students cannot afford to acquire events in detail, so they tend to cheat for the final assessment which is a negative behavior. Moreover, they are not interested in such tedious history lessons. Therefore, there is a rise in number of pupils who do not attend regularly to study this subject.

However, history is an only bridge that connects past, present and future. It teaches people what their forefather experienced and suffered to make their country what is today. The previous generation had gone through hundred of vigorous battles with many of them died, contributing for peaceful and happiness life later. In addition, history shows the pattern of events before so we can predict for what is going to happen next. Take the natural disaster as an example, researching about its previous impact can give us better measurements to prevent more consequence from these in the future.

In conclusion, history requires a certain amount of time to learn but it can be more crucial if we want to find out why we are here.