In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? and is it positive or negative development?

It is increasingly common for people to spend the majority of their day at workplaces. This essay will explore several possible reasons behind this trend and explain why it will have adverse effects on employees themselves.

Considering firstly the reasons, one of the most obvious is the need for higher income. Working parents, for example, need to work extra hours to get more money than just their base salary to afford their children’s tuition fees, and maintain a decent standard of living for the whole family. Another most common reason is the increased workload. Regular work hours might not be enough for employees to finish every task they are assigned within a day, especially in a peak season like a new product launch or sales campaign when overtime seems inevitable/ unavoidable.

Working too hard can present many problems, the most significant is that it can damage employees’ health. If we spend too many hours at our job, it is more likely that we would have no time and energy left to take proper care of ourselves. For example, we could not find the time to take part in outdoor activities, maintain a balanced diet that fuel our body, or get enough sleep. As a result, overtime can cause chronic stress, burnout, and depression. Another key impact of long-hours work on the family is the lack of family quality time. Many working parents could spend very little time with their children, thus contributing to negative youth development, poor family fitness, and lack of family communication and trust.

In conclusion, two of the principal reasons why more people spend extra hours at work include the demand for additional income and heavy workload. Therefore, this trend would have detrimental impacts on the employees’ wellbeing and their families.