Some people think paying taxes is a big enough contribution to their society, while others think people have more responsibilities as members of society than only paying taxes. Discuss and give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued that people have a sole responsibility of paying taxes to society while others believe that there are more necessary contributions which should be made by citizens instead of just paying that amount of money. I am of the opinion that inhabitants should play their parts in building an environmentally friendly society to make the world a better place.

It is quite understandable why some people think that paying taxes can be enough for one to contribute to society. Citizens paying taxes often allow governments to enhance infrastructure and construct public facilities. This is because an enormous amount of money is needed every year to upgrade roads, traffic lights, bridges, public schools and the so on. By imposing taxes on people, governments would have enough financial sources to achieve those targets.

However, I contend that taxes are not enough since environmental problems are becoming more severe and money cannot resolve the issues. In fact, air, water and noise pollutions are deteriorating the environment which is also our shared home-Earth. The primary reasons are that people have released their untreated waste into rivers and oceans, overused plastic bags for shopping, emitted exhaust fumes from vehicles. Those activities have had negative effects on not only people's lives but also animals' lives, leading to climate change and greenhouse effect. The solution to this problem is not related to money, it requires people's attitude towards society as a whole to stop them from harming the environment.

In conclusion, while some people believe that, they can contribute perfectly to community just by paying taxes, I concur that money is not the optimal solution to tackle the most alarming problem that the whole society is facing at the moment - global warming.