In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

In many parts of the work, the fact that employees working overtime has been increasingly popular. While there are several reasons for this practice, I believe that this is a negative trend.

Spending long hours at the workplace may stem from several reasons. The first one could be that many people think working hard means making great contribution to their company. This can be best exemplified by looking at many Japanese workers. They believe that working long hours is an indicator of dedication and loyalty, and therefore, they usually stay at work latter in the day in a hope that they can make greater contribution to their companies. Another reason might be that some people want to climb the corporate ladder faster than others. This means that they have few choices but to work harder than many of their colleagues to hone their job-related skills and hands-on experience. As a result, they many stand a higher chance to get promoted or receive a bigger salary offer.

Although I understand why many people have to work far into the night these days, I think that this is a negative trend. For one thing, when working overtime in the long haul, people are likely to suffer from a heavy pressure, which is the main cause for many potential diseases such as mental disorder. This is not to say they may have some health problems related to a sendetary lifestyle which results from a lack of time for active activities outside work. For another, working long hours also means that people have sacrifice valuable time spent with their family. I believe that family is the most important thing in the world, and it is not worth giving up this time for anything, even work.

In conclusion, While several reasons for which people spend long hours hours at work can be obvious, I would argue that this is more of a negative trend, and that we should try to reach work life balance as posible.