Some countries reduce inner-city traffic by increasing public transport. Others impose a tax on people who drive in the city

Few countries are taking measures to reduce traffic congestion by imposing a tax on people who drive in the city and encouraging people to use public transport instead. This essay will firstly discuss, how usage of more public transport will benefit the country as the biggest advantage. Secondly, how forcing people to pay a high tax for driving the car as a disadvantage.

Due to the increase in population, people are facing many adverse effects on the environment. One such thing is air pollution. When people use their own vehicle for commute, they are explicitly contributing to traffic, which in turn causes more air pollution. Instead, if people use public transport, traffic congestion can be controlled and making the environment more reliable place to live.

On the other hand, imposing the tax may benefit the government but not for the people. Places where public transport is not of high frequency, people are forced to use their own vehicle and for the local commute, people cannot rely on public transport all the time. People with low monthly wages will suffer a lot, due to the increase in the tax, as this will be an additional cost to them.

In conclusion, using more public transport is a really good plan to reduce traffic but the government should address those issues before imposing the tax, so people from different classes will get benefited.