Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think that they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

The usage of plastic bags has increased tremendously since the last decade and their accumulation is the major cause of land and sea pollution. I agree with the point, that banning of plastics will be one of the feasible solutions of saving our planet earth from deterioration.

Firstly, the plastics have a profound effect on the degradation of the environment, as they are non-bio-degradable. Accumulation of them causes a serious threat to the environment by polluting water bodies. Animals when they eat plastics by mistake, cause immediate death, as plastics are indigestible and indestructible. Their harmful chemicals destruct the fertility of the soil, inhibiting plants from growing further as they won’t get proper nutrients from the soil.

Besides, when plastic bags are burnt, they emit poisonous gas, when inhaled it might cause cancer and skin diseases. Every day, after the usage they are disposed into the ditches. As they are indestructible, the cleaning process is tedious, often clogs the drainage system, which worsens the environment.

Even after knowing how plastics are hazardous to nature, not taking proper steps will degrade the environment further. I really agree, banning plastic bags should be the first measure to solve this pollution of land and sea.