Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

It is true that a few people are buying unnecessary and expensive items even though if they can’t afford much. In this essay, I have summarised a few action items that can be taken to prevent people from buying unwanted things.

Nowadays, everyone got access to the internet which is the major culprit for all unwanted temptations. People see a lot of advertisements every day on their devices that draw their attention knowingly or unknowingly. Advertisements are really intelligent enough, that makes them think those things are the necessity of life and falling prey for that. When the digital currency system entered the life of people, it has changed the way of shopping dramatically. People are not really counting on their expenses and spending lavishly.

Besides, many are not believing in saving money. When they get in excess, they are spending without even giving a second thought. Peer pressure is also one of the reasons for buying luxury items. For instance, if a neighbour or colleague buys a car, it implicitly pushes them to buy the car, even without thinking about the debts that would incur in the future.

To overcome this issue, one has to be really aware of what is their monthly income and should keep a note of expenses using any mobile monthly expenses tracker application. Saving money should be insisted firmly by family members. They should also discuss with the fellow family members before buying anything to check if it is really important now. People should avoid using credit cards as much as possible and should start saving considering the future in mind.