In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Today, in some part of the world, with the dramatic growth in the number of large out-of-town stores has threatened the business of small town-centre shops. In my opinion, although this brings some certain drawbacks, it is more of a positive change than a negative one. On the one hand, the mushroom rise of shopping complexes in the outskirts is conducive to the economy and the cities as a whole. The first benefit is that the suburb land is wider, the cost of renting and operation there are much cheaper than in the city. This means that parking spaces are always available and many large shopping malls will be built to offer people various choices with a huge of brands but the prices are reasonable. For that reason, those out-of-town stores are attractive to a wider range of people. Thus, the demand for moving from urban areas to the suburbs and owning private cars will increase significantly. that can foster the growth of both the suburban economy and the automobile industry. Second, those stores which appear nearer to the neighbouring villages can make a considerable contribution to ease urban traffic volume and demand for migrating to the large cities of citizens. On the other hand, some drawbacks of this development should be taken into account. The rise in the traffic volume means the more exhaust fumes are released into the air. This makes air pollution become worse day by day. As a result, the worse air pollution becomes, the more diseases about the breathing people catch. In addition, this change might create traffic congestion at the edge of the city, especially on the weekends. In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages of out-of-town stores development, this change should be considered as a positive one because it encourages suburban economic development and eases the burden of the city.