In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In different nations, people develop more tendency to travel to out-of-town stores for goods, which cause detrimental impact on the business of small local shops. Consequently, individuals not possessing personal vehicles find it challenging to access these location and a growth in the use of cars is witnessed. Personally judging, its benefits overshadow the drawbacks as the nation economy could develop sustainable through the purchasing activities.

This development has two primary positive effects. Specifically, the expansion of suburb stores helps to foster goods’ production and boosts the commercial activities as these stores possess a wide range of goods and products, which plays as a key factor to attract customers. Also, as the out-of-town shops expand in size, their sales escalation boosts the goods consumption which have positive influence on the nation economy.

Nevertheless, mentioned about the negative aspects, this change also have detrimental impact on the environment. In detail, not possessing a car cause difficulty for individuals who want to purchase at these stores. Therefore, this phenomenon can only be addressed by the reliance on the shipping services which account for the large amount of carbon footprint for each purchase. Also, as people have to drive for a long distance to reach these locations, it not only escalates the greenhouse effect but also causes severe traffic congestion.

Personally, I endorse that the positive effects outperform the negative as environmental problems can be tackled by encourage people to use public transport. Besides, boosting commercial activities can be regarded as a long-term benefits for the nation.