In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

It is true that in many countries, people now routinely use their cars to shop at large supermarkets or superstores outside the town centre. While this has a number of advantages, I would argue that the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, there are benefits to be gained by shopping at out-of-town stores. Firstly, in big cities like London, motorists who shop in city centre stores have to pay a congestion charge to enter the central urban zone. They may also be unable to avoid rush hour traffic jams when city centre traffic grinds to a halt. Secondly, if there is a lot of shopping to carry, then a car is very convenient and, for example, the food items for all the family can be loaded into the car. Of course, such out-of-town megastores provide ample free parking and encourage car use, in contrast to the stores in the centre of town.

On the other hand, I believe that there are important drawbacks which outweigh any benefits. One problem is that convenient shopping is a feature of urban living and nothing is more depressing than a row of boarded-up shops and derelict buildings where the city centre stores used to be. Without these shops, inner city areas become areas of crime and poverty. Another disadvantage is that poorer people do not have cars, and out-of-town stores may be inadequately served by buses. Unless local authorities upgrade and expand public transport provision, the convenience of out-of-townshopping is denied to the poorest members of the community.

In conclusion, despite the advantages of out-of-town superstores, I consider that the benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks.