In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and this may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

It is true that in some parts of the world, small town-center stores are likely bankrupted as a result of increasingly people going to large out-of-town ones. This limits the access of people who don’t have cars to out-of-town stores, leading to a rise of car use. In my view, this trend has more benefits than drawbacks.

Closure of small town-center shops puts people into an inconvenient situation, especially those who rely on public transportation or live nearby because they have to travel to a distant place to shop. As a result, the use of cars also increases, leading to the high volume of traffic and some other problems such as traffic jams or bumper-to-bumper traffic on the road. This also causes the high level of carbon emission which severely contaminates the air.

However, more and more people going to the out-of-town stores leads to the high demand of stores outside the town which has lots of benefits. This provides more employment opportunities for local residents and then boosts the economy of this place as well. Moreover, this can help to reduce the flux of people moving to the city centre for seeking a job, contributing to the balanced population density.

In conclusion, while I accept that the bankruptcy of small town-center shops and the increasing number of people going out of the town for shopping causes several drawbacks in terms of individuals or environments, I still believe that the benefits of this trend are much more considered.