Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The issue of transportation facilities has been brought into focus recently. It is common for government to spend money on investing in railway infrastructure and road networks. I partly agree with the idea that there are many advantages to construct railway stations, while we cannot ignore the significant impacts in building roads.

There are several reasons why creating railways is important in our life. Firstly, the speed of rail transport is faster than the road, which means that trains can transport more goods and people at the same time, thereby saving more time and cost. Secondly, building railways can improve the standard of living for people. This is because people can choose different kinds of vehicle to travel, for example, trains, highways and railways. These transportation make people go travel more convenient and improve human happiness. Lastly, building railway stations can improve the employment rate. The operation of railways requires a significant workforce to maintain and work, which means that it can provide more job opportunities, such as staff, cashier, driver etc.

However, it is clear that roads play a crucial role in our daily lives. Building roads can alleviate traffic congestion. This is because more roads enables the selection of other roads when this road is crowded, which can reduce the commuting time. Meanwhile, people are afforded greater opportunities for weekend travel to nearby cities. People can drive their cars to other cities instead of buying train tickets and enduring lengthy waits to reach their destination. Moreover, some underprivileged areas lack the means to develop railway infrastructure. In this situation, constructing roads is one of the most important ways to help them develop and stimulate the economic development. As the old saying goes in China, road can bring money, water can improve economy.

In conclusion, governments must balance investments in railway infrastructure with the consideration of the impacts of road development.