In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, more and more parents preferentially choose home-schooling to educate their children rather than having them brought up at school. Although there seem to be some benefits, its upside is overshadowed in light of some rational reasons.

Admittedly, when parents teach their kids on their own at home, it can help them to reinforce the family relationship. Practically, a handful of people intentionally fully devote themselves to their work without paying attention to their kids; thus, the bonding among each member in a family tends to be ignored and faded. Therefore, when people have an opportunity to bring up their offspring, they are likely to cut down their work in order to dedicate their time to their youngsters. As a result, this trend can build a strong connection between parents and their children.

On the other hand, children can suffer various disadvantages from studying at home-schooling. First off, kids can struggle with the lack of imperative social skills. When the young spend most of the time at home, they just face and interact with only members in their family. As a result, they are deprived of the chance to communicate with their peers and other people and, evidently, many of them can be easily stuck into social troubles in the future. Second, parents fail to teach their children all of the subjects as well as aspects in life. This can be explained by the fact that schools offer the curriculum with not only a multitude of academic subjects but also the ethical lessons, which are lectured by numerous teachers with different expertise. This can simply create a premise for children to develop comprehensively compared to being limited at home.

To sum up, albeit the aforementioned advantage of educating kids at home, the demerits of this trend truly override its benefits.