In some countries today, people are having their first child when they are older. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is obvious that delayed childbirth is a tendency in some countries nowadays. Reasons for this trend as well as an explanation of why its drawbacks are outweighed by its benefits will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, there are two reasons why people tend to give birth to their first child later in their life. Firstly, the development of career is on the top of priority among youngsters these days. It is evident that spending years on studying and training is aimed at getting a high-salary job in the competitive job market, meanwhile, bearing a child may interrupt this process, especially in the case of women. Secondly, the responsibilities associated with a child may divert people from giving birth to a child. For example, the education of a child is so important that it requires parents to spare a considerable amount of time to choose suitable schools, orient their child's majors or even overcome the school issues like bullying that their child might face.

On the other hand, it is my belief that late child-bearing brings more advantages than disadvantages. The first factor could be attributed to the quality of raising a child, which is shown in parent's financial capability to support their family and their children. Furthermore, it is evident that parents whose knowledge and social skills are good tend to be able to teach their children better than those whose are not, especially young married couples. Another factor why having the first child late is beneficial is linked to the well-being of parents. I believe that when people are ready to give birth to a child, not only are they financially prepared but also mentally capable. This would lead to a fulfilled family life, which would give the child favourable conditions to grow.

In conclusion, career growth and child-bearing responsibilities are two reasons makes people these days delay giving birth to their first child. Meanwhile, this trend brings more positive sides than negatives ones through quality child-raising and parent's well-being.