In some countries today, people are having their first child when they are older. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Having babies later in life is regarded as a new trend of marriage, especially in these days when soon becoming adolescent parents might face plenty of troubles. It is easily seen that the financial burden is one of the reasons why many spouses tend to delay their childbirth because giving birth early forces them to tighten the budget. In this essay, I will lend more other detailed reasons and effects of this trend.

The fact that pregnancy has been more common in older women stemming from late-life marriage whose benefits are huge. Tying the knot early, in some cases, would cause constant quarrels about rights of child-rearing between young couples due to their immature thoughts on marital values. In contrast, delayed marriage may secure better conditions for children’s future. This would help singles have more time to seek a financially stable job and broaden behavioural experience before deciding to live with someone forever. Besides, high remarriage rate led by the rise of divorce in recent years partly contributes to late childbirth. The reason is that the lack of compatibility forces many couples to end their first love and marry again. Therefore, they may start having children after age 35.

As mentioned above, the benefits of late childbirth are undeniable, however, elderly parents, as well as a society also face threats that they can foresee. Indeed, raising kids at old age is more arduous than that at a young age, not only because their health will decline but also because their children are too little to self-manage. Moreover, having children when reaching over 35 can affect pregnancy due to ageing health. As a result, babies are not healthy enough or even die a premature death.

In conclusion, stable income and settled life make delayed marriage more appealing. The thing is we need to consider the pros and cons of this to decide what is right for a happy union.