In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

More and more students who graduated from high school, take a gap year to have a job or get used to the world. By doing this, young people can give themself great benefits, but some drawbacks need to be taken into account.

Taking a break from school can be beneficial, especially for the young. In most cases, high school graduates have no experience with the real world, and working or traveling can help to familiarize them with how things operate at the same time giving them chances and to expand their network. Compared to students who choose not to take a year off, the ones who do are more mentally prepared for their future school life, because they might have found out their passion and are motivated, it is also because knowing how hard life could be will enable them to cope with the stress, difficulties in their next academic journey.

Besides all the benefits, taking a break for one year can be wasteful and make one lose interest in studying. Students might not know what to do next and waste all their precious youth on leisure activities. Those who waste their time will have trouble getting back to an academic environment for instance university. Not only will they lose a year but also stay behind all of their peers. Ultimately leads to a loss of interest in studying.

In conclusion, young people can take a gар year to sharpen their skills and have a better understanding of the world which will help them in their learning journey and also their future. But some might not be suitable considering all the drawbacks.