In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

These days, young students are encouraged to take a gap year before entering university. It has several clear benefits, but it also has some disadvantages. In this essay, I will point out the pros and cons of this predisposition.

A primary advantage of taking a year off is that students are allowed to explore the outside world to get practical experience. When studying at high school, people are acquired to learn academic knowledge which does not help them much in their future jobs. It is necessary for learners to apply their basic knowledge in real life to learn skills from trials and errors. For example, students could hone their communication skills and leadership skills through internships and service projects, which do them a favor in applying for jobs in the future. Moreover, taking a year break from academics also releases the stress of academic burnout of learning at high school. Take it as an example. In Vietnam, it is visible that students spend about 12 years finishing their high school program; in addition, to accomplish their GCSE, students have to exert themselves for the final exam, so it takes a lot of efforts and time to obtain this certification. As a result, after losing too much energy, they feel exhausted and need a year to relax.

Although the tendency has potential merits, it also brings some drawbacks. One negative side is that many students will waste a huge amount of time; therefore, they stall the academic momentum. For instance, many students battle to figure out the purpose of their gap year, but not having clear goals then spending time doing unnecessary things such as computer games, watching TV, and hanging out with friends. Moreover, having an extra year could make a massive transformation in job applyings, and students who do not know how to utilize this time will be left behind and be at a disadvantage. For example, numerous students decided to bypass university and went straight into job markets although the work is beneath their capabilities and does not offer promised prospects.

To sum up, it is undeniable that taking a one-year break from high school enables students to revitalize themselves and learn new skills. However, they will waste time if not having clear goals and therefore be daunted when starting a new term at university.