In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is true that there are numerous benefits from having a gap year before going to university. Although there are some drawbacks of starting university life one year later than normal, I would argue that the benefits exceed the disadvantage.

The main drawbacks of the trend towards having a gap year before schooling is the expense paying for traveling and the amount of time spending for working. Despite the benefit from this trend, it is widely believed that having a break is suitable mostly for rich family but not the poor one, and not everyone gaining succeed after having a break between high school and university. Moreover, students with a gap year would have to try much harder to get well along with their classmates who are younger than themselves.

Despite the negatives mentioned above, experiencing a gap year are believed to be a positive development for some reasons. The most crucial one is job ability, which is one of the most common purposes of life in the world. Students, well-prepared with one year of the variety of experience not only about working but soft skills as well, which is essential and always required by employees. Furthermore, students with a break right after high school graduation usually have better and more proper choice in not only the occupation but also what to do with their own lives, by virtue of which, having a better and happier life.

In conclusion, while I recognize some disadvantages from spending one year off before getting into university, I hold a firm belief that the benefits would exceed the drawbacks.