In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?!

In some parts of the world, many youngsters are urged to take a gap year off to work and study before they start a tertiary study. This essay will illustrate both the benefits and drawbacks of taking a gap year.

There are many advantages to taking a break after high school. To begin with, a preference to take a year off can lead to better real-life experience as well as career choices. For instance, during that time students can travel to many of places around the world; as a result, this would help them widen their horizons, experience various cultures and expand their knowledge about many of different areas. Moreover, working during that time is also chosen to do by many young people. This would help them showcase their skills and gain a range of working experience that may be useful for their future study. Also, they may find it easier to choose a right career path.

However, for every positive, there is a negative, the flip side of studying after a year off is being a year behind academically. That means starting one’s university program a year later and graduating a year later than other one’s peers. Additionally, some scholarships, for instance, do not allow deterring so the decision of taking a gap year might be at the loss of a scholarship. Thus, the disadvantages of a gap year need to be weighed up against the advantages.

To sum up, although taking a gap year seems to do wonders for students’ personal and professional development, it might cause to delay academic progress by one year. Students should consider both of views before making a decision.