In some countries young people are not only richer, but also safer and healthier than ever before. However, they are often less happy. What do you think are the reasons for this and what can be done to help?

In recent times, people’s opinions differ on why people are less pleased despite being wealthier, safer and healthier. In my view, there are various possible reasons to account for this tendency. This essay will point out some of them and propose solutions to help this trend better.

To begin with, it is evident that with the advancement of cutting-edge technology, people’s lives should be better, but the fact is opposite. Up-to-date technology is conducive to the increasing preference of people for participating in virtual environments on a daily basis instead of face-to-face ones with their family or friends. This may negatively affect or even break up people’s relationships, which undoubtedly leads to the decrease in happiness. For example, Vietnamese teenagers are addicted to using social media platforms several hours a day, which distracts them from their family or friends. As a consequence, when they encounter difficulties, they are unable to find anyone for help.

In addition, going hand in hand with the development of the Internet is social media that reduces people’s happiness. Social media platforms have enabled people to express negative feelings or make critical comments without being identified. Owing to the attractiveness of this activity, people are getting accustomed to think and behave in a censorious way. For instance, in Vietnamese esports, there are moments that the Vietnamese teams played carelessly and got failures. Consequently, they are being criticized and insulted by the netizens for a long time, which is likely to make esports become a more perilous and violent environment and decrease the quality of people’s entertainment through esports.

To address these problems, parents should encourage their children to be engaged in more outdoor activities with their peers. This not only helps to enhance their health, but also expands their relationships and lessens the time they allocate to the Internet. Besides, social media platforms should censor violent contents and comments more strictly and even ban the violators permanently from the platforms. By doing so, it will raise people’s awareness and also make them be more civilized and positive.

All things considered, the reduction in happiness of today’s world is mostly attributed to the advancement of technology and irresponsibility of people. Therefore, people should cooperate and implement aforementioned methods to make the world a better place to live.