In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier, and live longer, but they are less happy. What are the causes? What can be done to address this situation?

It is true that today’s youngsters have healthier and wealthier long lives than in the past, especially in developed countries, however, they live less joyful than the older generations. The roots of this tendency might be the materialistic lifestyle of many young people, and the governments could take several steps to address this problem.

Material values are favored more than spiritual values among young people these days. This is partly because they are exposed to commercials and videos that deliver those messages intensively. Luxury products reviewers, for instance, make videos showing extravagant clothes or bags could bring satisfaction and a happier life. Those content as a result create illusions, such as that only expensive products could make one happy, among today’s youngsters.

National and local authorities could solve this problem with some measures. The first one is implementing regulations that ban advertising or content that encourage such kind of lifestyle. China have established laws that stop movie directors to create certain types of content, for example. Another measure could be providing funds for social projects that motivate young people to cherish their lives, their surrounding relationships, and their possession. Those steps combined could change the concept of a happy and fulfill life among youngsters.

In conclusion, while being materialistic cause today’s youth to feel less satisfied with their lives despite having higher living standards than the past, government bodies could tackle this problem by enforcing policies to prevent toxic content on the internet and allocate resources to hold aspiring campaigns.