In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In many places in the world, a common lesson for children is that everything is achievable given enough endeavor. This essay discusses the advantages and disadvantages of this message and then give my own perspective, which is that the former outweighs the latter.

There are compelling reasons why telling children that they can realize any goal if they put enough effort into it is beneficial for both individuals and society at large. Firstly, with this spirit in mind, children will stand a bigger chance of being successful. For example, a child not being taught the lesson in question would easily give up on a seemingly complicated task in school. In contrast, one who grew up with the mindset of keeping pushing forward would keep on looking into the root of the problem and eventually sort things out, receiving better grades. Secondly, the motto of never giving up is an essential reason for advances in our society. Every great inventor or scientist was once a child with a firm determination and persistence, pursuing his objectives relentlessly. As a consequence, we would not be able to live in a developed world with the latest technologies if the message to children was not to push themselves to the limit.

However, instilling into children the lesson of exerting themselves until they succeed can be disadvantageous to a certain extent. If the goal is not realistic, then it would be a waste of time and energy to pursue it, no matter how much effort is made. In this case, a child can feel disappointed and demotivated, thus being skeptical in his abilities, and perhaps would lose all confidence later in life. Therefore, the message of trying non-stop can be counterproductive.

In conclusion, I believe that the merits of telling children that anything is possible given enough effort prevail over the drawbacks.